Posted in book reviews

Lady Renegades (Rebel Belle, #3) – Rachel Hawkins

Just as Harper Price starts coming to terms with her role as David Stark’s battle-ready Paladin, protector, and girlfriend—her world goes crazy all over again.

Overwhelmed by his Oracle powers, David flees Pine Grove and starts turning teenage girls into Paladins—and these young ladies seem to think that Harper is the enemy David needs protecting from.  Ordinarily, Harper would be able to fight off any Paladin who comes her way, but her powers have been dwindling since David left town…which means her life is on the line yet again.

New York Times bestselling author Rachel Hawkins brings the fun once again in the finale of this pitch-perfect romantic paranormal comedy series.

This was…okay?

I don’t know, after Rebel Belle I was expecting more, but then after reading Miss Mayhem I’m not too surprised with how this ended. The whole time I was reading this it just felt like some kind of “filler” book, not really an ending.

Can we talk about the length to? I pre-ordered this straight after I finished reading Miss Mayhem, and the amount this cost for a 270(?) page book is more than I’ve paid for ones double this size. Not a fan of that. In a way I’m glad this wasn’t many more pages because then it really would’ve felt as it was starting to draaaaaaag. And as must as I love Harper, and David, I don’t think their witty banter and ass-kicking skills would’ve been enough to keep me entertained for a couple hundred more pages, unfortunately.

I can’t say that I didn’t enjoy this book. It was good, easy to get through, but that’s pretty much all I have to say about it – it was okay. Not “ahhh this is amazing give me the next one now” or “wow really good” it all falls to a “eh.” Which is soooo disappointing after how awesome and amazing Rebel Belle was and how much I loved that one!! It seems that as this trilogy went on it just worse.

The ending was…cute? I don’t know, it felt all a bit rushed to me. All of a sudden everything was happening, reunions, tears, kisses, death, going back to ‘normal life’ and then bam. Why couldn’t the whole book be this roller coaster, not just the last 20 pages??

But yep, not a terrible ending but I wouldn’t call this a fantastic-amazing-oh-my-god kind of ending that I was hoping (and secretly expecting) for.

I stick by my 3 stars.

 
Author:

I'm an avid book lover, tv watcher, and music listener. Welcome to my blog.

Leave a Reply

