Posted in book reviews

World After (Penryn and the End of Days, #2) – Susan Ee (A Review)

In this sequel to the bestselling fantasy thriller, Angelfall, the survivors of the angel apocalypse begin to scrape back together what’s left of the modern world.

When a group of people capture Penryn’s sister Paige, thinking she’s a monster, the situation ends in a massacre. Paige disappears. Humans are terrified. Mom is heartbroken.

Penryn drives through the streets of San Francisco looking for Paige. Why are the streets so empty? Where is everybody? Her search leads her into the heart of the angels’ secret plans where she catches a glimpse of their motivations, and learns the horrifying extent to which the angels are willing to go.

Meanwhile, Raffe hunts for his wings. Without them, he can’t rejoin the angels, can’t take his rightful place as one of their leaders. When faced with recapturing his wings or helping Penryn survive, which will he choose?

The book is currently sitting on my shoulder like a parrot at the moment, because I don’t want to part with it. What a bloody awesome, killer of a sequel! Not disappointed at all, this definitely lives up to the standards of the first book. I’m so pleased that the quality has continued on.
In the first book I always did kind of struggle to believe Paige was only 7 years old, and in this book it became even harder for me to believe that. To me it just doesn’t seem believable that she’s only 7, and I’m always imagining her as a young teenager, around 13. This didn’t impact how much I liked and enjoyed the book, but it did bug me slightly. Yep, that’s it people, in a book filled with angels and the world on the brink of the apocalypse, Paige’s age is the thing I find hard to believe…I think this book could have done with a dash more of Raffe. But I think that’s just a personal thing, since I love his character. The led up waiting for him & Penryn to reunite reminded much of the one between Lila and Kell in A Gathering of Shadows. So tense!

Once again this book was a rollercoaster of a ride. Event after event after event. Penryn never really does catch a break, and she constantly continues on.

I love her internal struggle between whether or not she is a hero and how she weighs upon helping others or just helping herself and her own family. I think that’s what grounds her, her humanity, in this world.

The best thing about this whole book is what she named the sword, everyone let’s hear it for (view spoiler)

End of Days, here I come!!!

You can also view this review on Goodreads!

Author:

I'm an avid book lover, tv watcher, and music listener. Welcome to my blog.

Leave a Reply

