Posted in book reviews

Dangerous Lies – Becca Fitzpatrick (A Review)

Stella Gordon’s life is a lie.

She does not belong in Thunder Basin, Nebraska. As the key witness in a murder trial, Stella is under witness protection, living a life she doesn’t want. No one can know who she really is. Not even Chet Falconer, her hot, enigmatic neighbour. But against her better judgement, Stella finds herself falling under Chet’s spell …

A storm is brewing. Is Stella really safe in Thunder Basin? And will Chet be her shelter, or her downfall …?

I have been a fan of Becca Fitzpatricks since the first Hush, Hush book was released, and I’ve stuck with her ever since.  So when Dangerous Lies was released I was excited to get my hands on her new novel, despite the fact that the novel before that – Black Ice – wasn’t a big favourite of mine. But still, I can’t turn away from one of her books, no matter how hard I try.

I’m so happy that I gave this book a chance. 4 big fat stars go to this book. The character development is great. In the beginning our main character Stella is determined to do whatever she can to rebel against her situation. Her and Carmina, her ‘foster mum’ clash, not getting along one bit. But throughout the book their relationship develops and they begin to open up to each other. One of the best things about this book is watching the relationship between these two characters flourish and develop.

Originally, by the marketing I had seen for this book, it seemed that it was going to be more of a mystery/thriller type book, but it was more of a romance. Which was fine, it worked well, and there was still some twists and turns along the way to keep the mystery up. This whole novel is more character-driven than plot based.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book. It was an easy, fun read. Now I’m waiting on the edge of my seat waiting to see what great things Becca Fitzpatrick comes up with next…

You can also view this review on Goodreads!

Author:

I'm an avid book lover, tv watcher, and music listener. Welcome to my blog.

Leave a Reply

