Posted in book reviews

Rebel Belle (Rebel Belle, #1) – Rachel Hawkins (A Review)

Harper Price, peerless Southern belle, was born ready for a Homecoming tiara. But after a strange run-in at the dance imbues her with incredible abilities, Harper’s destiny takes a turn for the seriously weird. She becomes a Paladin, one of an ancient line of guardians with agility, super strength and lethal fighting instincts.

Just when life can’t get any more disastrously crazy, Harper finds out who she’s charged to protect: David Stark, school reporter, subject of a mysterious prophecy and possibly Harper’s least favorite person. But things get complicated when Harper starts falling for him—and discovers that David’s own fate could very well be to destroy Earth.

With snappy banter, cotillion dresses, non-stop action and a touch of magic, this new young adult series from bestseller Rachel Hawkins is going to make y’all beg for more.

I didn’t really know what to expect with Rebel Belle, but I was pleasantly surprised with what I got. Over various social media platforms like BookTube, Bookstagram and Goodreads I’ve heard many good reviews but still…I had my doubts. Don’t ask me why, but the whole pinkness of the cover and the mention of homecoming kind of put me off. I thought the whole idea of this “mysterious prophecy” would be pushed aside. Although Harper tries to push it aside, she does soon realise she can’t ignore it forever and tries to have a normal life mixed with her “other” life. It was so fun to read, mixed with a great mystery, lots of sass, and some romance. This story wasn’t focused on all the love interests which was great. More than often good storylines are ruined/pushed aside for the sake of the romance. But in Rebel Belle it was handled perfectly well.  Harper was awesome, too, and she reminded me of Celaena Sardothein from Throne of Glass. Both of them prove that just because you’re “girly” and love clothes and make up it doesn’t mean you can’t also kick ass. I gave this book 5 stars on Goodreads and immediately ordered Miss Mayhem once I finished. Definitely one of my favourite books I’ve read this year!

You can also view this review on Goodreads!

Author:

I'm an avid book lover, tv watcher, and music listener. Welcome to my blog.

Leave a Reply

