Posted in book reviews

The Love Hypothesis – Laura Steven

An LGBT romantic comedy with a twist from the Comedy Women in Print prize winner Laura Steven, author of The Exact Opposite of Okay. A hilarious love story with bite, for fans of Sex Education, Booksmart, Becky Albertalli’s Love, Simon and Jenny Han’s To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before.

Physics genius Caro Kerber-Murphy knows she’s smart. With straight As and a college scholarship already in the bag, she’s meeting her two dads’ colossal expectations and then some. But there’s one test she’s never quite been able to ace: love. And when, in a particularly desperate moment, Caro discovers a (definitely questionable) scientific breakthrough that promises to make you irresistible to everyone around you, she wonders if this could be the key.

What happens next will change everything Caro thought she knew about chemistry – in the lab and in love. Is hot guy Haruki with her of his own free will? Are her feelings for her best friend some sort of side-effect? Will her dog, Sirius, ever stop humping her leg?

The Love Hypothesis by Laura Steven is a heartfelt, funny, and entertaining read. I really, really enjoyed reading this one, and I’m glad I decided to pick it up, after having Laura Steven on my radar for a while now. After reading this, I am definitely interested in reading more of her work.

I loved the parental relationship in this! The relationship Caro had with her two dads was beautiful, and they both had outstanding, quirky, personalities. (Dad reminded me so much of Captain Holt from Brooklyn Nine-Nine).

I really enjoyed the friendships Caro had. I don’t want to go in to too much detail with them, since I don’t want to give away any spoilers, but it felt like a very real, and honest portrayal of friendship. Their relationship was good. And then it was rocky. And then it was somewhere in between. Ultimately, this was a story of how friendships (and relationships) change – and that’s okay. People can grow apart, other people can grow closer, and that is fine.

It was a story about self-acceptance, in all walks off life: friendships, romantic relationships, familial. And it was really good to read. Caro went on an amazing journey of self-realisation. Again, it’s hard to say much without spoiling but I loved how she was able to self-reflect on her own behaviour. The journey she want on made her more mindful, more accepting, more empathetic, and more honest. I love her. She had such a fantastic narrative voice, and I was invested in her story.

Also, this story was incredibly funny. I have a bunch of favourite LOL moments highlighted. And a bunch that made me cry, too.

What a great book.

4 Shining Stars!

Author:

I'm an avid book lover, tv watcher, and music listener. Welcome to my blog.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s