Posted in book reviews

Paris for One and Other Short Stories – JoJo Moyes

From the #1 “New York Times” bestselling author of “Me Before You” and “After You,” a sensational collection featuring the title novella and eight other stories. Quintessential Jojo Moyes, “Paris for One and Other Stories” is an irresistibly romantic collection filled with humor and heart.

This ARC was sent to me by Penguin UK via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Thanks to both publisher/netgalley for sending me this 🙂
Usually I leave my DNF without star ratings, since I feel like because I haven’t read it all I shouldn’t be marking it. But I feel strongly with this one and my low rating at this moment in time. I am in no way closing my mind to this book, I might come back to it later, but right now. . . no.

I don’t think short stories are for me. I feel like within this collection the stories weren’t fleshed out enough, they all began to blur together and feel the same, and I never really noticed a difference in the characters. Overall, I found the stories I did read to mostly be boring. It could be down to that this isn’t my usual genre (and when I do read it, I’m quite selective and picky about what works) and that the situations these characters were in are things that I myself do not relate to. Example, several of this were about married couples which I am not, so I found it hard to connect/empathise with that. Maybe I was just in a sour mood trying to read this, who knows, but right now I know this isn’t for me. Maybe one day!

Author:

I'm an avid book lover, tv watcher, and music listener. Welcome to my blog.

Leave a Reply

