Posted in book reviews

Empire Of Storms – Sarah J Maas (Throne of Glass, #5)

BE WARNED, THIS ISN’T REALLY A  REVIEW, MORE OF A SPLURGE OF THOUGHTS.

The long path to the throne has only just begun for Aelin Galathynius. Loyalties have been broken and bought, friends have been lost and gained, and those who possess magic find themselves at odds with those don’t.

As the kingdoms of Erilea fracture around her, enemies must become allies if Aelin is to keep those she loves from falling to the dark forces poised to claim her world. With war looming on all horizons, the only chance for salvation lies in a desperate quest that may mark the end of everything Aelin holds dear.

Aelin’s journey from assassin to queen has entranced millions across the globe, and this fifth installment will leave fans breathless. Will Aelin succeed in keeping her world from splintering, or will it all come crashing down?

I’m not going to spare you all from my emotional fangirling. I’m sorry. So Amanda and me buddy read this one, somewhat awkwardly, but I’m so glad she was there on the other end for me to rant at, cry at, and vent at, at any and all times. While we’ve now both finished, the fangirling hasn’t ceased, and I doubt it ever will. (This just gives my iPod more chance to autocorrect names into capital letters, doesn’t it?). DO NOT CONTINUE TO READ IF YOU HAVEN’T READ IT. There will be spoilers. You’ve been warned! 😛

So I loved this. That was too be expected, considering the fact this this is one of my favourite series, and how much I love SJM’s writing. (I also brought 3 copies of this book, so no matter what, I was going to like it lol).

But this wasn’t my favourite. I don’t know why, but this one just fell a bit. . . flat to me. I still loved it, with old characters returning from the Assassins Blade, new relationships developing etc. (Elide and Lorcan, yaaaas). I loved seeing the merge between Celeana’s life and Aelin’s, and how they became one, not feeling so distant from each other.

Also, the mentions of Sam. Gosh dammit, breaks my heart. I love Sam Cortland, he’s my favourite character, and although Aelin doesn’t find herself blaming herself for Sam anymore, his name still strikes her. Ahhhhhhh.

I hate to say this…and I’m probably going to be lynched…but I’m not really a “Rowaelin” shipper. Go on, fight me (pls don’t). I don’t know, I just don’t really feel it. I don’t mind them together, but the whole “oh hey we’re mates,” and “oh yeah, and we got married,” just had me like re-aaaa-llll-yyyy. But I bet this pleases people that get pissy about Aelin having a new love interest every book. People scream about Rowaelin from the roof tops, but nah, not feeling it. I don’t mind it, don’t get me wrong, but I’m not the biggest cheerleader.

(Why does everyone have to have a love interest though? Can’t they just be happy and bad ass by themselves??)

Dorian, oh my beautiful, wonderful, Dorian. Dorian has always been one of my favourite characters, but in this one his character felt weird to me. Detached. I felt like he always got pushed to the side, always made irrelevant, and only brought back in when it was needed to bring up a plot point or to flirt with Manon. Besides that, and when he used his invisible hands, he wasn’t really there. Just off on the sidelines. Of course he’s going to be changed with the events of Queen of Shadows, but half the time he felt like a whole different character, and I couldn’t find it in me to sympathise with him or care, only telling myself that it was Dorian, over and over, made me stay interested. I’m sorry Dorian, I love you, I really do.

I’ve always liked Chaol, and somehow his absence in this book has made my heart grow fonder. (I’ve always never really been a massive Chaol/Aelin shipper but I somehow began to root deeper for that in this). While him not having any chapters didn’t make any of a difference, and them not being their allowed the story to flow great, it felt weird not having him there, as he’s already been a major character. Like with Dorian, although they’re still relevant and needed, as new characters come they keep getting pushed on the back burner.

ELIDE. Gosh, I love her. I love her growth in this book, and how cunning she is, and how smart, and brave. So many moments I was cheering her on, she’s amazing. And the reunion scene between her and Aelin, holy hell. I cried. And with Aedion. And with Manon.

I loved Aedion. Yep. I’m going to resist talking about every character because if not we’ll be here all day lmao…

(Let’s also high five Manon, because she really owned it in this book).

I feel like that because I read this over a few days, this effected how I felt about it. I’m going to give it a re-read and see if I love it even more.

But I did really like it, and that ending….
Like with the ending of ACOMAF….
We don’t talk about that.
No.
NO.
NOPE.
0
(But Lysandra’s imitation of Aelin is too funny, like she’s ever that polite).

But still, despite all this, I really loved the book. I loved the character interactions, and how plot points from years and years ago, from the assassin days, became tied up. I liked seeing more about Elena, and everything that happened back then. Questions got answered, but more rose up, and I’m really excited for the next book. I wouldn’t call EOS a filler at all, but it really did tie up some loose ends while spring boarding everything for the big finale. The big finale in which I hope Meave rots in the deepest darkest pits of hell (although I must say I really do enjoy having a female villain).

For now, this shall be my dodgy review. I’ll probably come back and edit it later, with more thoughts and such.

Also,
Fenrys.
Sassy fae males are great.
The end.

Author:

I'm an avid book lover, tv watcher, and music listener. Welcome to my blog.

Leave a Reply

