Posted in book reviews

Me Before You – JoJo Moyes

Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.

What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane.

Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that.

What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time.

 

After posting my Paris for One review yesterday, I realised I’ve never posted my Me Before You one, soooo…here it is!

Dearest friends and followers,

• it’s heartbreaking
• it’s sad
• it’s wonderful
• it’s funny
• it’s frustrating
• it makes you mad
• it makes you question
• it leaves you both happy and sad
• I love Will (is it just me though or are all characters named will sassy little troublemakers?)
• I love Lou
• ahhhhhhh

I don’t really know what else to say about this book, I have so many thoughts and feelings. I feel like going outside and shouting out my thoughts and frustrations to the world, to writing down my favourite quotes, re-watching the trailer 1000x and crying because I am know fully aware of what happens, declaring my love for this all over the Internet, and then finally I will probably cry myself to sleep over this…oh well.

(This may contain mild spoilers so I would read at your own risk, you’re warned.)

I think one of the lines that stood out the most to me is when Lou told her sister that “I told him I loved him but he said it wasn’t enough.” I can’t even begin to describe my feelings with this line — with everything that Lou feels about him & Wills feelings too. It’s not really the fact that Lou’s love isn’t enough for Will, but as he pointed out that his life isn’t enough for her or for him. His biggest problem wasn’t that he was unable to love Lou it was the fact he didn’t love himself enough or his life.

It’s just so heartbreaking to see these two people who have such a deep, intimate connection and understanding being pulled apart. It’s frustrating, but realistic.

This book really makes you question your own life, like how Lou started to question hers (much to Wills persuasion). Mainly questioning about how you life your life and is it really enough, are you really living it? I think that was one of the best things for me seeing Lou start to go out and take control of her own life and live it the way she wants to. Will seems to be the only want that wants Lou to have something to herself, everyone else sees her as being selfish if she wants to do something her way/not do it.

My whole family is pretty much made of carers. My nan, my mum, my aunties, my cousins. I’ve grown up knowing people with versions of Wills conditions and people with autism, dementia, Alzheimer’s, and other illnesses. So many of the issues in this book weren’t unfamiliar to me. But still, seeing and knowing about the struggles that many people go through it doesn’t make it any easier. When Will and Lou left the house I can relate heavily to the stares, the whispering, and the anger and frustration that goes along with it. It’s true that you don’t really understand how unequipped a place is for someone with a disability until you’re put into the situation.

Author:

I'm an avid book lover, tv watcher, and music listener. Welcome to my blog.

Leave a Reply

