Posted in book reviews

Paris for One – JoJo Moyes

Nell is twenty-six and has never been to Paris. She has never even been on a weekend away with her boyfriend. Everyone knows she is just not the adventurous type.

But, when her boyfriend doesn’t turn up for their romantic mini-break, Nell has the chance to prove everyone wrong.

Alone in Paris, Nell meets the mysterious moped-riding Fabien and his group of carefree friends. Could this turn out to be the most adventurous weekend of her life?

 

Paris for One is a short 95 page story by JoJo Moyes. Being 95 pages I knew not to expect too much from it, because really, how much can you fit into 95 pages? But still, I went into it with high expectations, looking forward to a 95 page whirl wind of a short story, that at the end I’d be wishing that this was a full length novel. Unfortunately, while I missed with the idea of this having a 95 page sequel, I found it unimpressive.

I absolutely love Me Before You, and I was captured by the writing style in that, and her story telling skills. Unfortunately, they seem to have gotten lost somewhere in the process of this book. Everything just seemed to draaaaaaaaaag, and I unfortunately couldn’t really form a connection between the characters. I wasn’t routing for any of them. Yes, this is 95 pages long and a short story I bare that in mind, but still, I can’t find myself recommending this short story to any one, or even really talking about it.

It seems to me that this really is a quick, light read, while you’re in between books or travelling somewhere. More of a filler.

It is so hard to review this because yes, like I’ve said, you’ve got to bare in mind that this is a short story on purpose, etc, but you still expect to get something from it. For me this was just way too easy to put back onto my bookshelf, and I, unfortunately, don’t think you’re missing anything if you have or haven’t read the book.

I do like however how the main character makes the best out of her situation and begins to embrace life with both hands. I think there’s a message there. Unfortunately, (maybe because of the length), story lines never seemed to be well developed.

Author:

I'm an avid book lover, tv watcher, and music listener. Welcome to my blog.

Leave a Reply

