Posted in book reviews

Under the Never Sky (Under the Never Sky, #1) – Veronica Rossi (A Review)

WORLDS KEPT THEM APART.

DESTINY BROUGHT THEM TOGETHER.

Aria has lived her whole life in the protected dome of Reverie. Her entire world confined to its spaces, she’s never thought to dream of what lies beyond its doors. So when her mother goes missing, Aria knows her chances of surviving in the outer wasteland long enough to find her are slim.

Then Aria meets an outsider named Perry. He’s searching for someone too. He’s also wild – a savage – but might be her best hope at staying alive.

If they can survive, they are each other’s best hope for finding answers.

I’d heard a lot about this book prior to reading it. I heard it was a dyspoian styled story, where the main character is fighting for her survival out in the wilderness. Now loving Katniss Everdeen and The Hunger Games, I thought I’d also like this book. But I’ve been putting off reading it, new books always finding themselves in to my hands before this one, until one day I just sat down and decided that today was the day I read Under the Never Sky.

I found the whole world a bit confusing. The different “Realms” and the matter of virtual life and real life got a bit confusing, and I struggled to understand how it would all work and why people are so eager to buy into it and accept a virtual world as real. But as the book went on I began to understand more. I can’t deny that it was interesting, but it was frustrating to spend the beginning of the book like ???

The beginning of the book certainly didn’t start of slow. We’re thrown into sudden action, drawing in your attention as you question why, why, why about everything that happens. Once again, these why’s weren’t answered towards the ending of the book. This is understandable as if it was all suddenly revealed at the beginning there wouldn’t have been much mystery at all, but at the same time at points it felt slowly drawn out.

This book is told from both Perry and Aria’s perspectives. This was great since they both come from two different worlds essentially, and we got to see and understand both through them. It also helped to understand the tension between the two different types of people, as we got to see how much hate and wary they are to each other (not that it lasts for long!)

There was some good world-building going on with the different tribes and the different “powers” that people have. I’m looking forward to seeing more of these tribes and tensions play out in the next installment.

I really am kicking myself for not having the next two books on hand so I can binge read this series. But oh well, something to look forward to reading in the New Year!

You can also check out and like this review on Goodreads!

Author:

I'm an avid book lover, tv watcher, and music listener. Welcome to my blog.

Leave a Reply

