Posted in book reviews

The Final Empire (Mistborn, #1) – Brandon Sanderson (A Review)

In a world where ash falls from the sky, and mist dominates the night, an evil cloaks the land and stifles all life. The future of the empire rests on the shoulders of a troublemaker and his young apprentice. Together, can they fill the world with color once more?

In Brandon Sanderson’s intriguing tale of love, loss, despair and hope, a new kind of magic enters the stage – Allomancy, a magic of the metals.

My love for Brandon Sanderson’s books can fill a hundred different galaxies. Sanderson is an amazing writer, his world building is spectacular, his magic system is so well developed, and I’m forever in awe at his books. I’ve discovered that he just gets better and better. There’s not one of his books that have let me down yet.

The Final Empire is the first book I have read by him. I was out with my friends celebrating her birthday, and I brought this book in one of the book shops we’d visited. I’d heard a lot about Sanderson’s books on sites like Instagram, and couldn’t wait to get my hands on to one of them.  So when I saw it, once again, I couldn’t resist (what’s new?).

On the way home on the bus, I began to read. Instantly I was drawn in, struggling to put it down, but I had to because I had to go home. As soon as I got back though, I dove right back in.

The Final Empire is built in such an amazing setting, the characters are all complex, and the magic – wow, the magic. Such a thorough and detailed and amazing magic system, so unique.

I absolutely love the main character, Vin. She starts of trying to be cold hearted, distrustful, and too scared to try and fight back. She’s just a pawn in other peoples games. Her character development is one to bow down to. She grows so much as a character. I love and admire Vin.

All characters in this book are amazing (I love Kelsier! and Elend!). Sazed also, is a very interesting and dynamic character that I adore. He brings more to this world of magic, and he brings with him a broader insight in to the rest of the world that these characters live in.

Now, the plot is amazing. It’s very driven and there’s a clear goal set out by Kelsier. It’s an interesting, suspensful, action-y plot, that doesn’t leave you bored at all. There’s always new twists and turns (and some espionage, which is great). This combination of a great plot and great characters makes for a fantastic book.

This book deserves all the stars that I can give it.

 

Author:

I'm an avid book lover, tv watcher, and music listener. Welcome to my blog.

Leave a Reply

