Posted in book reviews

Dark Places – Gillian Flynn (A Review)

HOME IS WHERE THE LIES ARE…

Libby Day was just seven years old when her evidence put her fifteen-year-old brother behind bars.

Since then, she has been drifting. But when she is contacted by a group who are convinced of Ben’s innocence, Libby starts to ask questions she never dared to before. Was the voice she heard her brother’s? Ben was a misfit in their small town, but was he capable of murder? Are there secrets to uncover at the family farm or is Libby deluding herself because she wants her brother back?

She begins to realise that everyone in her family had something to hide that day… especially Ben. Now, twenty-four years later, the truth is going to be even harder to find.

Who did massacre the Day family?

I’d heard a lot about Gillian Flynn prior to reading Dark Places, mainly from all the hype surrounding Gone Girl (both film and book). Despite all this hype, I backed away from it, not really interested once it was spoiled for me. Still, I was curious. So when I stumbled across Dark Places, at a low price, dying for something new to read, I couldn’t resist. I picked it up, and I began reading as soon as I got him.

I just – this book was so screwed up in the best way possible. The characters were flawed, dark, troublesome, and it was great. They were really interesting to read about, with so many layers to each character.

For example, Ben. We hear other characters opinions of him, that he’s a creep, a paedophile, a devil worshipper, and an all around bad kid, and then when we meet him we get explanations for why people think he’s the way he is, and all it comes down to is that Ben really was in the wrong place at the wrong time. With Diondra putting the dead parts in his locker, it wasn’t Ben, but that was still him that got the blame for it. Ben was the scape goat for a lot of things.

Diondra’s and Ben’s relationship…nope, didn’t like it one bit. I don’t like Diondra one bit, she’s a horrible person.

Now, the good old mystery of who murdered the Day family. I can’t say I was surprised by who done it, but it was still interesting to see Libby go through the motions of figuring out how it happened and who did it. Libby and Ben’s relationship too, that had my heart beating out my chest. It was so suspenseful and so tense for them to finally be reunited.

Some parts of this book were so horrific (SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER : when they were slaughtering the cows, I just couldn’t even, I skimmed most of the chapter, it was horrific).

This book is worthy of a 5 star rating of goodreads, and I highly recommend that everyone reads this book. Even if it’s not your genre (it’s not really mine either) you’ll most likely enjoy it. I’m not going to have any doubts about picking about another book by Gillian Flynn again.

You can also view this review on Goodreads!

Author:

I'm an avid book lover, tv watcher, and music listener. Welcome to my blog.

Leave a Reply

